Week 8: The most important vote of the year!

Dear all,

I hope you are all well as we enter the most crucial week in the calendar – it’s time for the York Tories AGM!

Firstly, I’d like to thank all of those who have bought a ticket to our Christmas Ball. We sold 90 tickets in the end which is incredible and we can’t wait to celebrate the year with you. Finally, if anyone has any dietary requirements please get in touch with our Events Officer, Matthew Dent, as soon as possible.

This Wednesday, we will be hosting our Annual General Meeting. It will start at 6.30pm in P/L/002. Here, you can suggest constitutional amendments before we re-ratify the constitution and elect the new committee. All roles are open to election. Below I have listed the incumbents in case you wish to find out about a role before running. You must be a paid member to vote or stand so don’t forget to pay membership by MIDDAY on Wednesday (we will be taking a register) and you must be currently studying.

Chairman – Beth Wright
External Vice Chairman – Jack Merrett
Internal Vice Chairman – Will Barnes
Treasurer – Sam Daley
Secretary – Eve Rimington
Publicity and Social Media Officer – Arthur Reynolds
Campaigns Officer – Stefan Schuller
Events Officer – Matthew Dent
Computing Officer – Alex Burn
Ordinary Officer – James Eyermann, Charlie Parkin and Sophie Whittingham

The evening can be long so you may wish to bring refreshments!

On Friday, we will be hosting the first of two super committee meetings at 6.15pm in D/104. This will be attended by both the current and incoming committees and is open to all members. We will then of course, head to the Garden of India for our weekly curry.

As always, we hope you have a great week and we hope to see you soon!

Eve Rimington

Alex Burn